The winners for the 25th Annual OFTA Film Awards have been announced.

The Online Film & Television Association has selected Minari as 2020’s best film. In addition, it was presented three other prizes. Lee Isaac Chung’s film about a family of Korean immigrants who tried to find a better life in rural Arkansas also received honors for Best Supporting Actress (Yuh-jung Youn), Youth Performance (Alan Kim), and Foreign Language Film.

Promising Young Woman garnered seven awards out of its thirteen nominations, plus an additional two wins for its marketing nominations, earning prizes for Carey Mulligan as Best Actress, Casting, Feature Debut from Emerald Fennell, Original Screenplay, Titles Sequence, and Cinematic Moment awards with wins for Best Poster and Best Trailer rounding out its accolades for the year. Four films, Nomadland, One Night in Miami, Soul, and Sound of Metal, picked up two prizes apiece. Nomadland was recognized for Chloé Zhao’s directing, Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Cinematography; One Night in Miami won Breakthrough Performance: Male for Kingsley Ben-Adir, Best Ensemble, and Best Original Song for “Speak Now;” Best Animated Feature, Soul, also won the Voice Over Performance award for Jamie Foxx, and Best Original Score; and Sound of Metal earned prizes for Best Film Editing, Sound, and Sound Effects.

The other acting awards were presented to Chadwick Boseman for his lead actor performance in Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, which also took the Best Costume Design award; Daniel Kaluuya won the award for Best Supporting Actor; and Maria Bakalova was named Best Breakthrough Performance: Female for Borat Subsequent Moviefilm.

Best Documentary was given to Time.

We have also announced the runners-up in each category, in addition to ranking the Best Picture slate based on the submitted votes of our members.

For the full list of winners, go here.

Hall of Fame

In addition to awarding the best films of the past year, the members of the Online Film & Television Association annually select thirty films, twelve actors (six male and six female), ten creative talents, and ten other technicians to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. The OFTA has also introduced three new Hall of Fame categories, two related to music and the other awarded to cinema’s best characters. These recipients are judged based on their historical and cultural significance as well as the quality of their achievements. Below are this year’s inductees:


  • Airplane (1980)
  • Badlands (1973)
  • Boyz n the Hood (1991)
  • The Bride of Frankenstein (1935)
  • The China Syndrome (1979)
  • Eyes Wide Shut (1999)
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)
  • Five Easy Pieces (1970)
  • The Great Escape (1963)
  • Guys & Dolls (1955)
  • Hud (1963)
  • Intolerance (1916)
  • The Invisible Man (1933)
  • The Jungle Book (1967)
  • The Little Mermaid (1989)
  • The Magnificent Seven (1960)
  • The Matrix (1999)
  • The Omen (1976)
  • Pather Panchali (1955)
  • Persona (1966)
  • A Place in the Sun (1951)
  • The Quiet Man (1952)
  • Rio Bravo (1959)
  • The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)
  • The Sixth Sense (1999)
  • The Social Network (2010)
  • Speed (1994)
  • A Star Is Born (1937)
  • Suspiria (1977)
  • Wings (1927)


  • Javier Bardem
  • Cate Blanchett
  • Dorothy Dandridge
  • Michael Douglas
  • Clint Eastwood
  • Whoopi Goldberg
  • Rita Hayworth
  • James Earl Jones
  • Health Ledger
  • Emma Thompson
  • Dianne Wiest
  • Gene Wilder


  • Richard Attenborough
  • Joon-ho Bong
  • Wes Craven
  • Peter Jackson
  • Kathleen Kennedy
  • Georges Méliès
  • Ridley Scott
  • Frank Oz
  • Satyajit Ray
  • Robert Zemeckis


  • Vic Armstrong – Stunts
  • Alan & Marilyn Bergman – Songwriting
  • Michael Giacchino – Music
  • Bob Fosse – Choreography
  • Hoyte van Hoytema – Cinematography
  • Eiko Ishioka – Costume Design
  • Dorothy Jeakins – Costume Design
  • Thomas Newman – Music
  • John Seale – Cinematography
  • Peter Travers – Criticism


  • 9 to 5 – 9 to 5
  • As Time Goes By – Casablanca
  • Bare Necessities – The Jungle Book
  • Beauty and the Beast – Beauty and the Beast
  • Circle of Life – The Lion King
  • Don’t You (Forget About Me) – The Breakfast Club
  • Eye of the Tiger – Rocky III
  • Falling Slowly – Once
  • Fight The Power – Do The Right Thing
  • Ghostbusters – Ghostbusters
  • Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Meet Me in St. Louis
  • Moon River – Breakfast at Tiffany’s
  • My Heart Will Go On – Titanic
  • Over the Rainbow – The Wizard of Oz
  • Singin’ in the Rain – Singin’ in the Rain
  • Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious – Mary Poppins
  • Under the Sea – The Little Mermaid
  • When Doves Cry – Purple Rain
  • When You Wish Upon a Star – Pinocchio
  • White Christmas – Holiday Inn


  • Back to the Future
  • Beauty and the Beast
  • Chariots of Fire
  • E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial
  • The Godfather
  • Gone with the Wind
  • The Good, the Bad & the Ugly
  • Halloween
  • Jaws
  • Jurassic Park
  • Lawrence of Arabia
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
  • Psycho
  • Raiders of the Lost Ark
  • Requiem for a Dream
  • Schindler’s List
  • Shaft
  • Star Wars
  • Superman
  • Titanic


  • Annie Hall (Diane Keaton) – Annie Hall
  • Atticus Finch (Gregory Peck) – To Kill a Mockingbird
  • Batman/Bruce Wayne (Michael Keaton) – Batman
  • Charles Foster Kane (Orson Welles) – Citizen Kane
  • Darth Vader (James Earl Jones/David Prowse) – Star Wars
  • Det. Virgil Tibbs (Sidney Poitier) – In the Heat of the Night
  • Dorothy Gale (Judy Garland) – The Wizard of Oz
  • Dr. Strangelove/Lionel Mandrake/Merkin Muffley (Peter Sellers) – Dr. Strangelove
  • Ellen Ripley (Sigourney Weaver) – Alien
  • Freddy Krueger (Robert Englund) – A Nightmare on Elm Street
  • Han Solo (Harrison Ford) – Star Wars
  • Hannibal Lecter (Anthony Hopkins) – The Silence of the Lambs
  • Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford) – Raiders of the Lost Ark
  • James Bond (Sean Connery) – Dr. No
  • Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) – Star Wars
  • Mary Poppins (Julie Andrews) – Mary Poppins
  • Norman Bates (Anthony Perkins) – Psycho
  • The Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) – The Terminator
  • Travis Bickle (Robert De Niro) – Taxi Driver
  • Vito Corleone (Marlon Brando) – The Godfather