ArgoThe winners for the 17th Annual OFTA Film Awards have been announced.

Ben Affleck’s CIA drama Argo was named the best film of the year by the Online Film & Television Association. The film also took home awards in Best Casting, Best Director (Affleck), Best Adapted Screenplay (an award it shared with Lincoln and Best Editing. With five awards, it was also one of the most honored films of the year, sharing that honor with Les Mis√©rables. The Tom Hooper musical adaptation earned the awards for Best Supporting Actress (Anne Hathaway), Best Breakthrough Performance: Male (Eddie Redmayne), Best Adapted Song (“I Dreamed a Dream”), Best Sound and Best Movie Trailer.

Wreck-It Ralph was named Best Animated Feature while Amour was selected as the Best Foreign Language Film. How to Survive a Plague took the prize for Best Documentary. In the other acting categories, Daniel Day-Lewis was chosen as the Best Actor of the year for his titular portrayal of Abraham Lincoln; Jennifer Lawrence was named Best Actress for her work in Silver Linings Playbook; Day-Lewis’ co-star Tommy Lee Jones earned the Best Supporting Actor award; the Best Youth Performance of the year was bestowed on The Impossible‘s Tom Holland, edging out co-nominee Quvenzhan√© Wallis who was selected as Best Breakthrough Performance: Female; Seth MacFarlane’s vocal work in Ted was recognized as Best Voice-Over Performance; and Silver Linings Playbook was chosen as the Best Ensemble of the year.

In other top categories, the Best Original Screenplay was determined to be Moonrise Kingdom; Stephen Chbosky shared the Best Feature Debut award with Beasts of the Southern Wild‘s Benh Zeitlin in the OFTA’s first category where more than one award is possible each year; Life of Pi was selected as Best Original Score; and Adele’s title track to Skyfall was named Best Original Song. Skyfall, the third most honored film of the year took home three other awards including Best Cinematography, Best Sound Effects and Best Titles Sequence.

Anna Karenina was awarded for both Best Production Design and Best Costume Design; The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey was declared to have the Best Makeup and Hair; Life of Pi picked up its second award for Best Visual Effects; Zero Dark Thirty‘s “Storming the Compound” scene was selected as the year’s Most Cinematic Moment; and the poster design for The Cabin in the Woods was selected as the Best Movie Poster of the year.

Hall of Fame

In addition to awarding the best films of the past year, the members of the Online Film & Television Association annually select ten films, four actors, three creative talents and three other technicians to be inducted into their Hall of Fame. Below are this year’s recipients:


  • Battleship Potemkin (1925)
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961)
  • The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957)
  • East of Eden (1955)
  • High Noon (1952)
  • M*A*S*H (1970)
  • Mary Poppins (1964)
  • Pulp Fiction (1994)
  • Toy Story (1995)
  • Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966)


  • Gene Kelly (1912-1996)
  • Sophia Loren (1934-)
  • Marilyn Monroe (1926-1962)
  • Mickey Rooney (1920-)


  • Blake Edwards (1922-2010)
  • Sidney Lumet (1924-2011)
  • Vincente Minnelli (1903-1986)

Other Technicians

  • Damien Bona, Historian (1955-2012)
  • Anne V. Coates, Editor (1925-)
  • Roger Ebert, Film Critic (1942-)