12YearsaSlaveThe winners for the 18th Annual OFTA Film Awards have been announced.

The Online Film & Television Association has selected 12 Years a Slave as 2013’s best picture, awarding it 6 other trophies as well. Steve McQueen’s film about a free black man sold into slaver into the Antebellum south also took home awards for Best Actor (Chiwetel Ejiofor), Best Supporting Actor (Michael Fassbender in a tie with Dallas Buyers Club‘s Jared Leto), Best Supporting Actress (Lupita Nyong’o), Best Breakthrough Performance: Female (Nyong’o), Best Casting and Best Adapted Screenplay. Alfonso Cuaron took home the Best Director prize for Gravity. That film about a medical doctor marooned in space after satellite debris destroys the shuttle she’s working on. Cuaron’s film received a total of nine awards for its production and two prizes for the advertising campaign.

Gravity made a near-sweep of the tech and creative prizes taking Best Original Score, Best Film Editing, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Sound, Best Sound Effects and Best Visual Effects. It also won the award for Most Cinematic Moment for the opening sequence. The Best Movie Trailer and Best Movie Poster awards both went to Gravity. Because those two categories are not a part of the film’s production, they are not counted in the official awards tally.

Walt Disney Animation won the Best Animated Feature for the second year running, picking up award for Frozen, which also won the award for Best Original Song for “Let It Go.” In addition to Leto’s tie in Best Supporting Actor, Dallas Buyers Club also won the award for Best Makeup and Hair. Cate Blanchett won the Best Actress award for Blue Jasmine, the film’s only victory. French foreign language film Blue Is the Warmest Color won two awards, one for Best Youth Performance to star Adele Exarchopoulos and one for Best Foreign Language Film.

Joel & Ethan Coen’s meditation on depression in the 1960s folk music scene Inside Llewyn Davis was awarded Best Breakthrough Performance: Male for Oscar Isaac and Best Adapted Song “Fare Thee Well.” Scarlett Johansson received the award for Best Voice-Over Performance for her work on Spike Jonze’s Her, which also won the award for Best Original Screenplay. American Hustle was awarded Best Ensemble. Nebraska writer Bob Nelson and Short Term 12 writer/director Destin Cretton were jointly awarded the award for Best Feature Debut.

Stories We Tell won the award for Best Documentary Feature; Best Costume Design went to The Great Gatsby; and The Conjuring was named Best Titles Sequence.

Hall of Fame

In addition to awarding the best films of the past year, the members of the Online Film & Television Association annually select ten films, four actors, three creative talents and three other technicians to be inducted into their Hall of Fame. Below are this year’s recipients:


  • Back to the Future (1985)
  • La Dolce Vita (1960)
  • Forrest Gump (1994)
  • The French Connection (1971)
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)
  • Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975)
  • Seven (1995)
  • The Shining (1980)
  • Unforgiven (1992)
  • The Usual Suspects (1995)


  • James Dean (1931-1955)
  • Kirk Douglas (1916-)
  • Greer Garson (1904-1996)
  • Rosalind Russell (1907-1976)


  • Clint Eastwood (1930-)
  • David Lynch (1946-)
  • Quentin Tarantino (1963-)

Other Technicians

  • Marvin Hamlisch, Composer (1944-2012)
  • Sandy Powell, Costume Designer (1960-)
  • Robert Richardson, Cinematographer (1955-)